President Obama Honors Nation's Top Scientists and Innovators

i-bc7853d7219fa5821f042f74be5b94f7-obama2.jpgEach year, 12 of the nation's top scientists and engineers are awarded with the nation's highest honors, America's Nobel Prize. The National Medal of Science and the National Medal of Technology and Innovation represent the highest honors for achievement in science & technology bestowed by the President of the United States.

This year scientists and engineers were honored for groundbreaking discoveries in the fields of genetics, mathematics, energy technology, rocket science, avionics, energy and imaging technologies. The laureates were honored in a presentation ceremony by President Obama on Friday Oct, 21, followed by a black-tie gala. "The scientists and innovators in this room have saved countless lives, improved our health and well-being, unleashed whole new industries and millions of jobs, and transformed the ways we work and learn and communicate," the President said. "And this incredible contribution serves as proof not only of your own creativity and skill, but of the promise of science itself."


Stacy Jannis, the Festival's Kavli "Save the World Through Science & Engineering" Video Contest manager, working for DC based production company Evolving Communications, was tasked with producing several of the videos that played at the gala following the presentation ceremony. "These individuals are inspiring on so many levels. Not only are they brilliant and creative thinkers, but they are also extremely determined. Many continued to work to validate their discoveries and push forward their inventions despite setbacks and lack of support." notes Stacy. "These scientists and engineers are truly the heroes of the modern world. Their achievements have helped advance society in ways that are pretty astounding."

See Stacy's video about medal recipient Jayant Baliga:

The 2010 Science Laureates:
Jacqueline K. Barton, California Institute of Technology
Ralph L. Brinster, University of Pennsylvania
Shu Chien, University of California, San Diego
Rudolf Jaenisch, Whitehead Institute for Biomedical Research and Massachusetts Institute of Technology
Peter J. Stang, University of Utah
Richard A. Tapia, Rice University
Srinivasa S.R. Varadhan, New York University

The 2010 National Medal of Technology and Innovation Laureates:
Rakesh Agrawal, Purdue University
B. Jayant Baliga, North Carolina State University
C. Donald Bateman, Honeywell
Yvonne C. Brill, RCA Astro Electronics
Michael F. Tompsett, TheraManager

To learn more about the awards click here.

And here are more videos about the medal recipients.


More like this